Sweetwater Trail, wait… what?

This past weekend in Sacramento was gorgeous! Since I was out in the Folsom area on Saturday, I decided to go for a quick hike near Folsom Lake. With my 60 Hikes Within 60 Miles of Sacramento book in hand, I set out to find the Sweetwater Trail which is about 10 miles North of Highway 50 near El Dorado Hills. I followed the directions exactly and was pretty sure that I’d found the appropriate parking area; however, when I walked down to the trail head this is what I saw…

Brown's Ravine Trail Head

Brown’s Ravine Trail Head

It was already close to 3:00 pm and wanted to get in 6 miles so I thought, “What the heck,” and started down the trail.

Views of Folsom Lake

Views of Folsom Lake

Views of Folsom Lake

Views of Folsom Lake

Views of Folsom Lake

Views of Folsom Lake

Views of Folsom Lake

Views of Folsom Lake

All in all it was a great day and a nice quiet hike. I still prefer the Auburn State Recreation Area to the Folsom Lake Recreation Area for hikes, but this was a nice excuse to get out while I was in Folsom. Oh and did I forget to mention why I was in Folsom? The REI used gear sale. Yes, guilty as charged, but look forward to some gear reviews from me soon!

Leave a Reply

